27.2 C
Wednesday, May 29, 2024
HomeNewsSubsidy removal: Makinde constitutes 15-man committee

Subsidy removal: Makinde constitutes 15-man committee

Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State has constituted a 15-man committee to ameliorate the effect of removal of subsidy on Premium Motor Spirit (PMS).

Makinde announced the constitution of the committee on Monday via a statement made available to DAILY POST through his Chief Press Secretary, Sulaimon Olanrewaju.

The governor announced that he has set up a committee for the Sustainable Action for Economic Recovery (SAfER).

He said the committee is meant to mitigate the effects of the removal of fuel subsidy and the resultant economic difficulties on citizens of the State.

GISTS VILLA reports that the committee is headed by the Governor’s Chief of Staff, Hon. Segun Ogunwuyi, while Professor Musibau Babatunde, Commissioner for Budget and Economic Planning, will serve as its Secretary.

Other members of the committee according to the statement are: Mr Akinola Ojo, Finance Commissioner; Barrister Olasunkanmi Olaleye, Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development; Mr Segun Olayiwola, Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters, Prince Dotun Oyelade, Commissioner for Information and Comrade Bayo Titilola-Sodo, Special Adviser, Labour Matters.

The list also includes: Chief Bayo Lawal, Senior Executive Assistant, General Duties, Alhaji Kolawole Gafar, Executive Assistant, Finance, Budget & Economic Planning; CP Sunday Odukoya (Retired), Executive Assistant, Security and Miss Ololade Ajibola, Senior Special Assistant, Special Duties.

The rest are Bishop Daniel Oluwajimade, representative of the Christian Association of Nigeria, Alhaji Muniru Ogundipe, representative of the Muslim Community, Mr Ademola Babalola, representative of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) and Mr Jide Bamgbose, representative of the Civil Society Organisations.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments