Real Madrid left-back, Marcelo, has admitted that Bayern Munich should have been awarded a penalty in their Champions League semi-final second leg with Real Madrid last night.
Late into the first half with the score still at 1-1 on the night and 3-2 on aggregate, Joshua Kimmich’s cross struck the outstretched left arm of the Brazilian defender inside the area.
But referee Cuneyt Cakir waved away Bayern Munich’s penalty claim and the match ended in a 2-2 draw with the visitors losing 4-3 on aggregate.
Marcelo told reporters, “It’s a hand, it hits me in the hand and it’s a penalty. If I say it does not hit me I’m lying, but football is like that.
“I do not talk about the referees but it is clear that sometimes it is wrong in our favour and other times against, no matter what happens you have to play football.”
On Real Madrid’s goals scorer, Karim Benzima, Marcelo added: “It is clear that he had to arrive, Karim is a great player and he does not need to score goals every day to show what he is worth.
“We were confident with him because we know his quality and we knew that sooner or later he was going to respond. We have all bad nights.”